high contrast: off
Mon panier Fermer

VOUS N'AVEZ AUCUN ARTICLE DANS VOTRE PANIER.

to the top

_CARE introduisant

le coach de soins

Maura Horton, The Care Coach, est la voix de l'orientation et de l'expérience pour les aidants et leurs familles. Elle a été la principale soignante de son mari pendant la longue lutte de dix ans qu'il a menée contre la maladie de Parkinson à apparition précoce. Pendant qu'elle s'occupait de lui, Maura a été la pionnière du concept de vêtements adaptés, qui donnait la priorité à la fonction et à la mode. Elle a inventé un système de fermeture magnétique breveté pour les vêtements et a lancé MagnaReady, la première chemise magnétique au monde.

Maura continue à être une force motrice du mouvement d'adaptation, travaillant à développer des conceptions holistiques et inclusives qui couvrent la technologie, le bien-être, la maison, la beauté, le style et plus encore. Porte-parole de l'industrie, Maura a été citée dans les principaux médias, notamment le Wall Street Journal, le New York Times, Prevention et Caring.com. Elle est apparue sur les principaux réseaux d'information télévisée, notamment CNN, The Today Show, CBS This Morning et Fox News. Maura a également été l'invitée du gala Magic of Hope de l'American Parkinson Disease Association, de la conférence Little Big Things de la Davis Phinney Foundation et de la vitrine Design For All de la Maison Blanche.

SUIVEZ MAURA SUR SOCIAL @CARECOACHADVICE

_CAREGER

coach
CUES

Conseils pour prendre
soin de soi

Adieu la culpabilité

La prestation de soins peut être entachée de culpabilité. Il peut y avoir des voix intérieures dans notre tête avec lesquelles nous luttons quotidiennement. La culpabilité de ne pas être ou de faire mieux. Culpabilité pour des choses que nous pensons avoir pu faire ou culpabilité pour des choses que nous n'aurions pas dû dire. Chaque jour, chaque moment ou chaque interaction n'est pas parfait, et nous avons tous des moments où nous voudrions recommencer. Il est important de ne pas s'attarder sur ce point. Nous serons meilleurs la "prochaine fois" si nous nous pardonnons à nous-mêmes.

Prendre des notes

Nous prenons souvent des notes ou un journal sur les personnes dont nous nous occupons pour nous y référer ou pour les amener lors d'une prochaine visite chez le médecin. Nous le faisons pour documenter les changements, voir les schémas et/ou les progressions. Pourquoi ne pas noter des informations sur vous... le soignant... comment vous vous sentez ? Est-ce que c'était une bonne journée pour vous aussi ? Vous avez remarqué quelque chose à votre sujet ? Ces informations sont extrêmement utiles pour vous permettre de vous souvenir de ce que vous avez ressenti à un moment donné ou dans une situation donnée. Vous pourriez être agréablement surpris de voir la gratitude et l'amour se répéter dans vos notes.

Mayday ! Mayday !

Demandez de l'aide ! Les conversations se déroulent souvent comme suit : "Faites-moi savoir si je peux vous aider d'une manière ou d'une autre", et nos réponses sont souvent "Non merci" ou "Je le ferai", et pourtant nous le faisons rarement ! N'attendez pas que le navire coule pour demander de l'aide. Entourez-vous de personnes qui veulent vous aider, même si ce n'est que de façon très limitée. L'aide est cumulative. Tout s'additionne. En tant qu'humains, nous semblons mieux fonctionner avec un but. Acceptez le but de quelqu'un d'autre pour vous aider.

Miroir, miroir sur le mur

L'autoréflexion est souvent difficile, mais elle est très importante pour être le meilleur possible. Prenez une minute pour respirer, rassembler vos pensées et regarder à l'intérieur de vous. Prenez le temps de valoriser les réalisations que vous avez pu avoir. Prenez le temps d'être reconnaissant pour un bon moment ou un rire. Prenez le temps de voir à quel point vous êtes fort.

Faites votre course

"La comparaison est le voleur de joie", Theodore Roosevelt. Essayez de ne pas comparer votre voyage ou votre journée à celui d'une autre personne. En tant qu'aidant, vous serez confronté à des défis uniques, avec des décisions compliquées à prendre. Ce que vous choisirez pour vous ou votre proche sera différent des autres, et c'est normal ! Il n'existe pas de formule pour la prestation de soins. Vous ne pouvez pas partir du principe que quelque chose a peut-être fonctionné pour quelqu'un d'autre, que cela fonctionnera pour vous. Trouvez votre voie.

Faire simple

Lorsque vous planifiez votre journée, votre semaine, votre mois ou votre matin, apprenez à simplifier. On nous a souvent appris que plus on en fait en une journée, mieux c'est. Cependant, lorsqu'il s'agit de prendre soin de quelqu'un, nous devons rendre les choses moins intimidantes, c'est-à-dire réduire les choses qui vous épuisent pendant la journée. Simplifier votre vie. Si quelque chose d'intimidant vous attend, essayez de le décomposer en petites étapes pour atteindre votre objectif. Sachez que vivre une vie simple peut vous aider à rendre les choses plus faciles à gérer.

Le choix du mois

Le rasoir Treo de Gillette pour les aidants

Conçu avec les aidants, pour les aidants. Avec son gel intégré, le Gillette Treo est le tout premier rasoir spécifiquement conçu pour raser quelqu'un d'autre. Il est doté d'un peigne de sécurité pour protéger la peau et éviter les bouchages, d'un manche ergonomique pour le confort et le contrôle, ainsi que d'un gel spécial non moussant qui fonctionne sans eau.

MONTREZ MAINTENANT
Entretien avec l'équipe de CARE COACH

Mettre fin à la maladie de Parkinson avec le Dr Ray Dorsey

Maura Horton, fondatrice de Care Coach et de MagnaReady, parle au Dr Ray Dorsey de son livre qui vient de sortir Mettre fin à la maladie de Parkinson : Une prescription pour l'action

LIRE
_CARE COACH mois Q+A

Q+A

Des conseils d'experts et des conseils du coach de soins chaque mois.

LIRE
French (CA)

high contrast: off
to the top

Finding Gratitude as a Caregiver

A letter to the JUNIPER community from our Chief Community 
 Officer and Care Coach Maura Horton 

read STORY

_CAREGIVING CHAMPION

Couple Caregiver Champions: Tim & Brenda Hilton

_ESSENTIAL

The new definitions of essential caregiver or care provider

image

02

A letter to the JUNIPER community from our Chief Community Officer and Care Coach Maura Horton

_CARE COACH caregiving champion

Day by Day with Yvonne Whitley

Yvonne Whitley shares her caregiving journey with her son Charles, as well as some words of wisdom for anyone in a similar situation.

READ

introducing

the care coach

Maura Horton, The Care Coach, is a voice of guidance and experience for caregivers and their families. She was her husband’s primary caregiver during his decade-long battle with early onset Parkinson’s disease. While caring for him, Maura pioneered the concept of adaptive clothing that prioritized function and fashion equally. She invented a patented magnetic closure system for clothing and launched MagnaReady®, the world’s first magnetic shirt.

Maura continues to be a driving force of the adaptive movement, working to develop holistically inclusive designs that span tech, wellness, home, beauty, style and more. A spokesperson in the industry, Maura has been quoted in major media outlets including the Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Prevention and Caring.com. She has appeared on major television news networks including CNN, The Today Show, CBS This Morning and Fox News. Maura has also been a guest speaker at the American Parkinson Disease Association’s Magic of Hope Gala, the Davis Phinney Foundation Little Big Things conference, and the White House’s Design For All Showcase.

_CAREGIVING

coachCUES

Tips for
self-care

Goodbye Guilt

Caregiving can be riddled with guilt. There can be internal voices in our head that we struggle with daily. Guilt for not being or doing better. Guilt for things we think we could have done or guilt for things we shouldn’t have said. Not every day, every moment or every interaction is perfect, and we all have moments where we would like a redo. It is important not to dwell on it. We will be better the “next time” if we forgive ourselves.

Tips for
self-care

Take Notes

We often take notes or journal about who we are taking care of for reference or to bring to an upcoming doctor visit. We do this to document change, see patterns and or progressions. Why not jot down information on you… the caregiver… How you are feeling? Was it a good day for you, too? Was there something you noticed about yourself? This is extremely helpful so you can also look back and remember how you were feeling during a certain time or situation. You might be pleasantly surprised to see gratitude and love recurring in your notes.

Tips for
self-care

Mayday! Mayday!

Ask for help! Conversations often go like this, “Please let me know if I can help in any way,” and our responses are often “No thanks” or “I will,” and yet we rarely do! Don’t wait until the ship is sinking to ask for help. Surround yourself with people who want to help, even if it’s just in a small way. Help is cumulative. It all adds up. We, as humans, seem to function better with purpose. Accept someone else’s purpose to help you.

Tips for
self-care

Mirror, Mirror on the Wall

Self-reflection is often hard but so very important in being the best we can be. Take a minute to breathe, gather thoughts and look inward. Take time to value the accomplishments you may have had. Take time to be thankful for a good moment or a laugh. Take time to see how strong you are.

Tips for
self-care

Run Your Race

“Comparison is the thief of joy.” Theodore Roosevelt. Try to not compare your journey or day to someone else’s. In caregiving, you will have unique challenges, layered with complicated decisions. What you may choose for you or your loved one will be different than others and that is OK! There isn’t a formula for caregiving. You cannot assume just because something may have worked for someone else, that it will work for you. Find your path.

Tips for
self-care

Keep It Simple

When game planning your day, week, month or morning, learn to simplify. We have often been taught that the more we do in a day, the better. However, when it comes to caregiving, we need to make things less daunting. Trim the things that wear you down during your day. Simplify your life. If something intimidating lies ahead of you, try to break it down into small steps to achieve your goal. Know that living an uncomplicated life can help make things seem more manageable.

_CARE COACH monthly Q+A

Q+A

Expert tips and advice from the care coach each month.

caregiving

recommendations

Bookshelf

Self-care for the Real World

Rituals for Every Day

image

This month, I am recommending two helpful options by authors Nadia Narain and Katia Narain Phillips. Both options are authentic and practical-based solutions for Self-Care and developing healthy habits. I am particular to the sensible sound advice of health from the inside out. You will want to come back to them time and time again!

SELF-CARE FOR THE REAL WORLD

RITUALS FOR EVERY DAY

Journals

Wellness Journal

Grateful Set

image

Wellness Journal

This gorgeous daily wellness journal is a great way to set your intentions and take note of the things that make you feel good. Filled with pages that reflect on everything from goals and things we are grateful for to water intake and sleep habits, this book helps practice mindfulness, keep the focus on you and guide you during these difficult times.



image

Grateful Set

It’s important to remember that there’s a lot we need to feel grateful for these days. This journal and pen set help you keep track of all these things, whether it’s having a supportive family, a job you love, or something as simple as a beautiful, sunny day. It even includes how to create a gratitude vision board. All the tools you need to feel good and grateful.

image

Apps

IANACARE App

image

I am not alone app: IANACARE

Supporting caregivers, the invisible backbone of the healthcare system. This free platform creates, congregates, and coordinates day-to-day to tasks. You create a team, and they handle the details by coordinating practical support, communicating updates and ensuring you are not alone. .

DOWNLOAD
_CAREGIVER pick of the month

Intention Capsule

Put your intentions out there with this intention capsule. You write down your intention, wish or goal. Place it in the capsule. Wear closely. Available on a chain, as a choker, or bracelets, this small token is a reminder that your goals and wishes are valuable.

SHOP

TRIBUTE

Celebrating the life of Travis Roy, former hockey player and philanthropist

TED
credit: gettyimages
My Cart Close

YOU HAVE NO ITEMS IN YOUR SHOPPING CART.